11-01-20 by Spotlight Zimbabwe

Victoria Falls To Be Accorded City Status

Local Government Minister July Moyo on Wednesday moved a motion in parliament seeking MPs’ resolve to compel President Emmerson Mnangagwa to accord Victoria Falls town city status.

This comes after a commission that was set up by Moyo in 2017 to assess the resort town’s capacity to be granted city status has recommended it be given the status. Said Moyo:

Following receipt of an application by Victoria Falls Municipality for upgrading to city status in terms of section 14 (1) of the Urban Councils Act, I appointed a commission to investigate the suitability of the council to be elevated to city status.

It is imperative to stress that the municipality is up to date with audited accounts and has also crafted a robust redevelopment concept for the coveted city.

I, therefore, call upon parliament to resolve and recommend to the President to proclaim the municipality as a city and thereby Victoria Falls assume the status of an eminent tourism city in the world.

Zimbabwe currently has seven cities, namely Harare (the capital), Bulawayo, Mutare, Gweru, Kwekwe, Masvingo and Kadoma.



Posted in: , ,

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Start a discussion

write a comment